US Congress

The United States of America is a federal republic consisting of
50 states. Each of which has its own goverment (“state
goverment”). In some ways the United States is like 50 small
countries. Each state has its own governor, its own police and
its own laws. The present constitution was proclaimed in 1787 in
Philadelphia, the President is the head of the whole country and
the goverment and “commandering chief” of the armed forces. He
makes the most important decisions and chooses the ministers, the
members of his cabinet. But the President cannot do just what he
wants. The Congress must agree first. Americans choose a new
president every four years. The residence of the President is the
White House in Washington, the Capital city. The goverment of the
whole country (the Federal goverment) works from Washington, this
is where the Congress is based. The Capitol is the seat of the US
Congress. Congress is the American parliament which consists of 2
chambers. The Senate and the House of Representatives. The first
Congress met in 1789 in New York city. The membership then
consisted of 22 senators and 59 representatives. Today the House
of Representatives has 435 members. Elections to the house take
place every 2 years. There are 100 senators (2 from each state),
they are elected to serve for a period of six years, but every
two years elections to the senate took place when one/third of
its members must be changed or re-elected. Election day is always
in the month of November, on the first Tuesday, after the first
Monday. Americans who aren_t yet 25 years old have no right to be
elected to the House of Representatives. Whose, who are under 30
can_t be elected in the Senate. The main political parties in the
United States of America are the Democratic Party and the
Republlican Party.